BBL History- Big Bash League

BBL is one of the two T20 leagues alongside IPL. In this article, we compiled details about the BBL history of teams, players, and season winners. The Big Bash League is take place from December to February. As you know T20 is a famous format since its inspection. All the cricket fans like to watch the T20 cricket event which includes leagues of every country and the t20 world cup cricket. In the Australian league, people like it most due to foreign players who came all around the world country. If you have the craze about BBL and want to know about the history of the league then connect with the article till the end.


BBL History


BBL History

Big Bash League is established on 2011 by Australia Cricket. Its 1st season was played on 13 December 2011. Australia Cricket replaces the KFC Big Bash from BBL and includes 8 teams in it instead of six. All the teams were based in the 6 states of Australia. In 2011 a constant held to make the design of league trophy 2011. Australia Cricket decides to run the league under those regional states which are not included in International cricket.

In the year 2012, the expansion of the league was planned. But it was suspended because of the lack of proper hosting by cities. In the 5th season, the coach of Melbourne Stars suggests the expansion of the tournament include to the New Zealand teams. He said if we do this then the expansion of the league will be supported by largely the local platform of New Zealand. His suggestion was supported by the coach of the Brisbane Heat team Coach and the Black Caps Captain.

Melbourne Renegades team chief executive said the BBL is ready to expand from 8 to 10 games. More matches will add after adding more franchises. In the 8th edition of the league, it was announced that Gold Cost Suns are interested to secure the BBL franchise if the competition will expand. IPL is the most watched league in the word you can get all about its history by clicking on IPL History article.

BBL History Winner Teams

The Big Bash League plays among a total of 8 teams. All the teams are strong and can compete with their rival team. The teams are Brisbane Heat, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Sydney Thunder, Sydney Sixers, Adelaide Strikers, Hobart Hurricanes, Perth Scorchers, and Brisbane Heat.  Here we will share the winner’s team of the Big Bash League. How much time does every league win the title of Champion in the league?

First BBL Season

The 1st season of the BBL wins by the Sydney sixers. They qualify for the final and play against the Perth Scorchers team. Steve Smith led the team under his captaincy. Moises Hurricanes scored 70 runs for the Sydney Sixers to help the team win the final of the tournament. Moises also becomes the “Player of the match” in the final of the tournament. Sydney team set the target of 158 runs for the competitor team. But the Perth Scorchers team out on 156 runs and become the runner-up of the inaugural season.

2nd BBL Season

In the final of the 2nd season of the league play against Brisbane Heat and Perth Scorchers. Chris Hartley led the Brisbane team. Brisbane Heat give the target of 167 but the Perth team made only 133 runs. The Scorchers team finishes the season as a runner-up team.

3rd BBL Season

Perth Scorchers win the title of champion 1st time in 3rs season of the league. Perth Scorchers team made 191 runs against Hobart Hurricanes team. Simon Katich led the Perth team and under his captaincy, the Perth team won the final match. Hobart team ended the season as runner-up.

4th BBL Season

In the 4th season once again Perth team was successful to win their 2nd title of “champion”. They scored 148 against the Sydney Sixers in the final match. Sydney Sixers lost the match by just one run. Shaun Mars wins the award of “Player of the Match”. Adam Voges captained the Perth team against the Sixers. Perth team won the tournament final by 5 wickets.

5th BBL Season

Sydney Thunder team won its 1st title against Melbourne Stars. Sydney Thunder scored 181 runs on the loss of 7 wickets. But the Melbourne Stars out on the 176 runs and lost the 9 wickets. Mike Hussey led the team as captain and Usman Khwaja won the award for the Player of the match. Usman scored 70 runs on 40 deliveries.

6th BBL Season

Perth Scorchers team win the BBL trophy 3rd time. Scorchers team play against Adelaide Strikers in the final of the league tournament. Perth Scorchers scored 144 runs against Adelaide team where Adelaide Strikers made 141 runs. Perth Team won the final from 3 and Jhye Richardson won the title of ” Player of the Match”.

7th BBL Season

Adelaide Strikers win its 1st title of Champion title. Adelaide team play against the Hobart Hurricanes team. Strikers set the target of 202 runs and the Hobart team made only 177 runs with the loss of 5 wickets. Travis Head led the team as captain. Adelaide team won the final match by 25 runs.

8th BBL Season

In the 8th season, Melbourne Renegades play against Melbourne Stars. Where Renegades scored 145 runs but Stars could not chase the target and run out on 132 runs. Aron Finch captained the Melbourne Renegades.

9th BBL Season

Sydney Sixers won its 2nd title against Melbourne Stars. Sixers scored the 116 runs against the Stars team. Melbourne Stars team run out on 97 runs and Sydney Strikers team win the final of the tournament from 19 runs. Moises Henriques led the team as captain.

10th BBL Season

In the 10th season, Sydney Sixers win their 3rd title in the BBL league. Sydney Sixers team scored 188 against Perth Scorchers team. The Scorchers team lost the final match of the league by 27 runs. Moises Henriques led 2nd time Sydney Sixers and win the title 2nd time as captain.

11th BBL Season

The previous season of the league was won by the Perth team. Perth team get their 4th title and trophy of BBL. Perth Scorchers set 171 runs target against  Sydney Sixers. Where the Sixers team made just 99 runs and lost the final by 79 runs. It was the most successful match for the Perth team. The Scorchers team gets the win with high runs gap.

Leave a Comment