BPL History- Bangladesh Premier League

BCB wants to introduce a new cricket format to bring young talent to Bangladesh cricket. Here we are going to share the BPL history. The history of the winner’s team, purpose & everything about the Bangladesh Premier League. This league takes place every year in  January and February. BPL is the 3rd most popular league due to its short format. The hits & boundaries of foreign players in this league attract fans to the stadiums. In the history of the BPL book, Bangladesh has the best batsmen &  outstanding bowling lineup. If you are a big fan of the Bangladesh T20 league & know all about its history then connect with us till the end.


BPL History


BPL History

Bangladesh Cricket Board owned the BPL in 2012. The league was formed in the year of 2011 after the suspension National Cricket League T20. The inaugural season of the league plays in 2012 and the Dhaka team wins the title of champion. BPL introduces 6 teams at the beginning these are followed.

  • Comilla Victorians
  • Khulna Tigers
  • Chattogram Challengers
  • Sylhet Sunrisers
  • Minister Dhaka
  • Fortune Barishal

After the 3rd season BCB suspended all the teams due to match-fixing on the spot. In the year of 2014 tournament of the league can not play due to fixing the issue. All the teams come back with their new identity in 3rd season.

Rangpur Riders add as a new franchise team in the league. BCB suspend the Sylhet team in the 6th season of the league due to financial issues. In 2020 Bangladesh Cricket Board decided to run the league under its observation.

All the franchise team owners suspend from the ownership. Bangladesh Cricket Board announced after the decision that there is no tournament to play due to Covid. The 8th edition of the tournament played in 2022. All info about the BPL schedule is mentioned in my article get it by clicking on it.

BPL History Winners

In BPL history all teams do well to win the tournament. At the beginning of the league, 6 teams play against each other. Later BPL decides to add a new team to this league. Rangpur Tigers and Rajshahi Kings were introduced as a new team. All 6 franchise teams represent six different cities. Here we list all the PSL Winners according to the season.

2012 Year Winners

In the inaugural season, the Dhaka Gladiators team emerged as the champion. Where they defeat the Barishal Burners team in the final match of the tournament. The team completes the score target of 141 runs in 15,4 overs. Shakib Al Hassan becomes the player of the match of the tournament.

2013 Year Winners

BCB add one new team in 2nd season of the league and Dhaka Gladiators again wins the trophy for 2nd time. Dhaka team set the target of  172 runs for Chittagong Kings. They can not achieve the target and make only 129 runs. Dhaka team wins the match by 43 runs, and Shakib Al Hassan once again becomes the player of the tournament.

2015 Year Winners

Comilla Victorians win their first title of champion, They defeat the Barishal Bulls by 3 wickets, and Azhar Zaidi becomes the player of the tournament.

2016 Year Winners

The fourth season was fantastic for the Dhaka team. Dhaka Dynamites won their championship of BPL. They defeat the Rajshahi Kings team by 56 runs which is a great gap of runs. Muhammadullah Riyad won the title of player of the tournament.

2017 Year Winners

Rangpur Riders win the first time BPL trophy. They set a high score target of 206 runs for the Dhaka team. Dhaka team try their best to complete the target but they failed and make only 149 runs. Chris Gayle wins the award for the player of the tournament.

2019 Year Winners

Comilla Victorians once again get the title of Champion. They defeat the Dhaka team by 18 runs. Shakib Al Hassan was the player of the tournament.

2020 Year Winners

Rajshahi Kings win their 1st title of champion. They defeat the Khulna Tigers team by 21 runs. They set the target of 170 runs for Khulna teams but they can not make the runs and out on 149/8. Andre Russell was the player of the match of the season.

2022 Year Winners

In the 8th edition of BPL, the Comilla team wins a third-time trophy. They defeat the Fortune team by 4 wickets.

BPL History Runners- Up

  • Barishal Burners-2012
  • Chittagong Kings-2013
  • Barishal Bulls-2015
  • Rajshahi Kings-2016
  • Dhaka Dynamite-2017
  • Dhaka Dynamites-2019
  • Khulna Tigers-2020
  • Fortune Barishal-2022

Who Takes the Most Wickets in BPL History?

Shakib – Al- Hassan the International player of the Bangladesh team plays in the BPL. He takes the highest wicket all season and makes the record of his BPL career. He takes a total of 122 wickets. In the 2022 tournament, Mustafizur Rahman takes the highest 19 wickets in the individual tournaments.

Cricbuzz BPL

Cricbuzz is the website to watch live scores online. It is a free website that provides BPL live scores, the schedule of every team, ball-by-ball audio commentary, and news about the Bangladesh Premier League. It is a free website to watch the live score. Sometimes you are busy with work and you have no time to watch your favorite match on TV.

Cricbuzz helps you to take updates about live match scores. You can get an update f the live scores on every ball. You don’t need to get any subscription for it just connect to the internet and download the website on your mobile or Laptop. Now enjoy the live score with every single moment of the match.

 Who Score Most Runs in the BPL History?

Tamim Iqbal is the highest run score in BPL history. He scores 14726 runs in all Bangladesh Premier League seasons. In 2012 he was the iconic player for the Chittagong King. In the 7th edition, he became the 1st player of the Bangladesh league who complete the 2000 score in the history of BPL.

 Who is the Most Expensive Player Of BPL History?

Shahid Afridi is a Pakistani International cricketer and plays in the BPL. He is the most expensive player in BPL history. Dhaka Gladiators bought him for $ 700,00o which is the highest paid for any player. Chris Gayle the cricketer of West Indies plays for the BPL. He is the 2nd most expensive player in the Bangladesh league and was bought by Barishal Burners for $551,100. Kieron Pollard another West Indies player bought by the Dhaka team is $300,000. He is the 3rd highest-paid player in the Bangladesh Premier League.

Leave a Comment