Delhi Capitals Team Players, Squad and Matches

Delhi Capitals is a cricket team in the Indian Premier League. Team Delhi capitals were the 5th expensive team in IPL. The team’s home ground is Arun Jaitley Stadium, located in Delhi.  The team of Delhi in IPL changed their team captain eight times. Currently coached by Australian legend Rick Ponting, the Delhi capitals made the semifinals of the tournament on two occasions in 2008 and 2009. Delhi Capitals is the team that changed their theme song 4 times.


Delhi Capitals Team


Delhi Capital Franchise History

BCCI organize the IPL league in the year 2008, with eight teams selected from 8 cities. Delhi capital team is one of them. Delhi Capitals is a franchise team based in Delhi, that plays in IPL.  The team of Delhi in IPL own by Indian infrastructure company GMR Group for US$84 million. In March 2018, GMR sold fifty% shares in the Delhi capital to JSW sports for US$73 million.

Also Check out,  Mumbai Indians Team

Team Identity

All the teams have an identity to show their team. Here we provide detail about Delhi Capitals Team Identity.

Logo & Name

The basic design of the Delhi Capitals team logo is the shield and the color of the logo is blue and white with red Tigers. The Parliament house design is made on the top of the shield. Tiger is the national animal of India that’s why 3 tigers are used in logo design. Delhi is the capital of India and Parliament House is also in Delhi.

In December 2018, the team changed its name from Delhi Daredevils to the Delhi Capitals. Chairman of JSW said, “Delhi is the power center of the country, it is the capital of India, therefore, the name Delhi Capitals”.

Theme song

Play Aggressively or “Khelo front Foot Pe” was the theme song of Delhi Capitals sung by Kelash Kher. In the year 2012, they change their theme song to “Mundy Delhi Ky”. In 2016 Sukhwinder Singh sang a new theme song “Dhuandhar Delhi” for the Delhi Capitals team. The team changed the theme song to “Dil Dili Hy Ab Dharkyga” in 2018. From 2019 to 2021 their theme song is “RoarMacha” sing by Amit Ravi.


In 2008 colors of the jersey were Red and Naviblue and sponsored by Hero Honda. The color combination of the jersey is Red with Sky Blue sponsor by Quikr. Daikin sponsor the Delhi jersey item 2015 and the jersey design with the color combination of lilac-purple and red. In 2019 jersey colors were Naviblu, Light blue, and Red sponsored by Daikin. In 2020 JSW sponsor the Delhi Capitals jersey. The manufacturers are Adidas, Flying Machine, Shiv Naresh, T10 Sports, SqadGear, and Wrong Active.

Home Ground of Delhi Capitals

The home ground of team Delhi is Arun Jaitley Stadium located at Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, New Delhi. The capacity of the stadium is 55,000 seats. They also have a modern second home ground Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium.

Most Expensive Player and Highest-Paid Player of Delhi Capitals

Yuvraj Singh is the most expensive player on the Delhi team bought 16 crores in 2015. Rishabh Pant is the highest-paid player (Rs.8 crore) of the Delhi Capitals.

Mission and Vision of Delhi Capitals

The mission of the Delhi Capitals team is to be the flag bearer of the city’s history, pride, and excellence by striving to be the best. Its vision, since its inception in 2008, has been to take along with it the fans and create experiences and moments that go on to add positively to the history of sports.

Team Performance Of Delhi Capitals Team


In the first season, they won 2 matches against RR and Deccan Chargers. After they lost one match they won 2 matches against RCB and CSK. Delhi Capitals lost to the final champions, the Rajasthan Royals, in the semi-final.


In 2009, despite finishing the season at the top of the points on the table, the team fall in the semi-final after Deccan Chargers captain’s hit the fastest fifty in IPL. The semi-final loss meant Delhi capitals did not trail the final of the 2009 Indian Premier League despite having a good record in the tournament. Delhi Capitals managed to qualify for the 2009 Champion league T20 due to their performance in the group stage.


The team Delhi of IPL play under the captaincy of  Virender Sehwag. Delhi Capitals finished the 2011 season with a bad performance and they did not qualify for the Champions League T20.

2012 to 2014

In 2012 they came back with strong power, having purchased players Keve Pietersen, Mahela Jayawardene, and Ross Taylor. They stood first in the point table with KKR at 2nd place. Glenn Maxwell disappointed the team this season and stop playing for Delhi Capitals. Mahela Jayawardene appointed as captain of the Delhi Capitals after Virender Sehwag step down from captaincy during the season.

In 2013, they lost their first 6 matches and won their 1st match in the seventh game against Mumbai Indians. Sehwag was the Man of the Match for his innings of 95 off 57 balls. The final game was against Pune Warriors India. Pune makes 171 runs but they could not reach the target and lost by 38 runs finishing last in the point table.

In 2014, they faced another bad-performing season. They lost their 1st match against RCB. They lost two matches against 2-time champions team the CSK. Next, they won the match against MI with 125 runs. They won 2 matches out of 14. Despite the bad performance of the tournament JP Duminy, the team captain scored 410 runs from 14 matches with a 51.25 average.

2015 to 2017

In 2015, the team finished the season in the 7th position in the table. They receive an aggressive response from their fans due to bad performance in the previous two years. Team Delhi won five of their first 7 matches gaining 10 points in the 2016 year. They lost their 2nd match against Gujrat Lions by just 1 run. The Delhi Capitals were the favorite to qualify for the play-offs but they finished 6th with 14 points.

In 2017, they lost De Kock and Duminy before the tournament and add Muhammad Shami, Chris Morris, Pat Cummins, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, and Ben Hilfenhaus to the team. They lost to the runner-up RCB in the first match and won a big margin against RPS and K11P. They ended the season with 12 points and lost 8 matches.

2018 to 2020

They retained Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, and Rishabh Pant. Ricky Pointing was the new captain of the Delhi Capitals. In the year 2019,  they won against MI with 37 runs. They entered in play-offs after 7 years and won 1st playoff against SRH by two wickets. Team Delhi lost 2nd playoff match against CSK and ended the season as 2nd runner-up. They start well in the year 2020 with seven winning out of 9 games. However, they lost 4 matches but they were able to defeat Royal Challengers Bangalore in the last match and finished as 2nd ranked team in the league stage.


In 2021, they win 6 matches out of eight and get the place at the top of the points table. Shikhar Dhawan made the highest run 587 with a 124.63 strike rate.

Brand Ambassador

 In 2008 Akshay Kumar was the brand ambassador of Delhi Capitals and Vivien Richardson was in 2013. In 2021 Rishabh Pant was the brand ambassador of team Delhi Noise Smartwatches. 
Categories IPL

Leave a Comment