Hanif Muhammad Green Cap – PSL Best Batsman Award

What is Hanif Muhammad Green Cap and what is its connection of it with PSL? Did you want to know? Hockey is the national game of Pakistan despite it Pakistanis prefer cricket. PSL is the T20 domestic cricket of Pakistan that launch by PCB in 2016. In the beginning, there were 5 teams to play in the league. It is like other leagues, such as IPL, and BPL which play in different countries. The purpose of PSL is to promote cricket in Pakistan where International player also plays in different teams.

To appreciate the highest score PCB decide to arrange an award. In the PSL many players made records with the highest runs. Each player who scored the highest number of runs is awarded by Hanif Muhammad Green Cap.

Hanif Muhammad Green Cap

What is Hanif Muhammad Green Cap?

The Hanif Mohammad award and a green cap are granted to the highest run-scorer of the PSL season. Here the player with the best run score wears the cap all through the game and gets the cap after the last game.

Hanif Muhammad Green Cap in PSL

PCB decide to launch a t20 league in which players from different countries would take part. It was like IPL, BPL, and other cricket leagues which occur all over the world in a few nations. It was named PSL with five teams.

Ramiz Raja and Wasim Akram were the two ruling players of the Pakistan cricket crew; for a long time, they were the brand ambassadors of PSL. The appearance of PSL was not good for Pakistan Cricket Board. After many struggles by the administration, PSL was launched in 2016 in UAE with five teams. All these teams are:

The worth of PSL in 2017 hit around $300 million and continued to build as per Arif Habib. Nobody expected such a celebration for cricket fans, particularly foreign players who were finally part of the PSL.

There are two honors for the highest run-scorer and the wicket-taker. Hanif Muhammad award and a green cap for the run-scorer, the highest wicket-taker, a maroon cap, and the Fazal Mahmood award are given. The player wears the cap until the competition closes assuming that he keeps his spot at the highest point of the table.

Hanif Muhammad Green Cap Award For the Best Batsman

Right now, Babar Azam is the highest run-scorer of PSL and has scored the most runs with 2070 runs booked. Then again, Wahab Riaz is the bowler with the most wickets of 94 in his PSL career.

Babar Azam the most dominating player of the Pakistan cricket team also won the award of Hanif Muhammad Green Cap two times. He plays for the Karachi Kings franchise team in PSL. His highest score in the Pakistan Super League is 554 runs. Here below we list out other batsmen who win the award of green cap.


Team Matches Innings Runs


Kamran Akmal

PZ 11 11 353 2017
Luke Ronchi IU 12 12 435


Shane Watson

QG 12 12 430 2019
Babar Azam KK 12 12 473


Babar Azam

KK 11 11 554 2021
Fakhar Zaman LQ 13 13 588



FAQS- Frequently Asked Question

Who wins the Hanif Muhammad Green Cap in PSL?

Babar Azam the Captain of the Karachi Kings team in PSL wins the award of Green Cap 2 times.

Who Wins the Hanif Muhammad award in 4th season?

Shane Watson wins Hanif Muhammad in 4th season.

Categories PSL

Leave a Comment