PSL 2023 Islamabad United Team, History, Identity & Squad

Islamabad United team is the first Champion of the Pakistan Super League. Islamabad cricket team of PSL is the favorite team of the PSL fans. Because they manage their place in every season very well. The home ground of the Islamabad team in Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium. As you know PSL is one of the most-watched leagues in the world. Pakistan Cricket Board decided in 2015 to introduce a platform of cricket to elaborate the talent of young youth. Due to PSL, the new talent of cricket came out for making fame for Pakistan. In this article, we share details about Islamabad United so read the article till the end.


Islamabad United Team


Islamabad United Team History of Franchise

Islamabad United represents the franchise team of PSL & the team is based in  Islamabad, It is the capital city of Pakistan. In 2015 PCB organize the PSL league & select 6 teams from six different cities. Leonine Global Investment bought the Islamabad franchise. Amna Naqvi & Ali Naqvi is the owner of Leonine Global Investment. This company focus to invest & business interests globally with its sports power. This company also bought a franchise in Hong Kong T20 Blitz. Rehan Ul Haq is the general manager of the Islamabad franchise. Pakistan Cricket Board announced the squad for PSL 2023 tournaments. You can get all information about PSL 2023 Teams in my article by clicking on it.

Islamabad United Team Squad

Islamabad United is the best team in PSL and they won Pakistan Super League two times. The United is one of the teams that was being part of PSL since 2016. In this team, many players are outstanding like Captain Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali & Paul Stirling. All the team player list is mentioned here.

  • Athar Mahmood
  • Rehmanullah Gurbaz
  • Mubasir Khan
  • Zafar Gohar
  • Danish Aziz
  • Reece Top
  • Mohammad Ikhlaq
  • Marchant de Lange
  • Colin Munro
  • Paul Stirling
  • Mohammad Wasim
  • Alex Hales
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Asif Ali
  • Hasan Ali
  • Shadab Khan

Islamabad  United Team Identity

Every team knows the game with its identity and every cricket team has a different identity. Identity means its name, logo, brand &, etc. If you are a lover of the Islamabad team you can get the details about the identity of your favorite team.

Team Anthem

All the teams changes their anthem songs with the time, In the first season the Anthem of United team was ” Chakka Choka” sung by Ali Zafar. They changed their song in 2017, and new song released as ” Cricket Jorray Pakistan” sung by Momina Mustehsan. And the next anthem song is “Kitna Rola Daly Ga“.

Team Kit Sponsor

The kit color in the shirt were Red and Golden in the season of 2016 to 2019, But later there is little change in color scheme, the red  is used as prominent color where golden color reduce minimum. The Kit sponsor in the year of 2016 was Dostea which were main sponsor for the shirt. WWF are the team official partner & PTV sports are the media partner of the team. Later in the second season the signed JS bank as a title sponsor.

Team Logo

The logo of the Islamabad team is designed very beautifully. In the logo lion image show the power & dignity. The logo is designed in three different colors red, light brown & Orange.

Brand Ambassador

In the season of 2016 Ali Zafar the famous singer was the Brand Ambassador of the team Fahad Khan & Momina Mustehsan are the Brand Ambassador of United team in 2018 to 2022.

 Islamabad United Team Performance

2016 Year

Islamabad team start the tournament with poor performance but later they win four matches on group stage. In the next match Mohammad Sami took five wickets & get the title of “Man of the match”. The united team chase up the target of 111 in 15 overs. In the 2nd qualifier match of PSL they faced Peshawar Zalmi where Peshawar could not achieve the target of 177 runs. Zalmi team out on 126 runs. In the next match Islamabad play against Quetta Gladiators in the final match & United won the final match of 2016 tournament. Andre Russel finished the tournament as highest wicket taker.

2017 Year

In the season of 2017 Islamabad United retained the 17 players & add 3 new players in their teams. They start tournament to play against Peshawar Zalmi & win the match by 7 wickets. Next match play against Lahore Qalandar & lost match by 6 wickets. The tournament shift to Sharjah  and they play match against Quetta Gladiators.

In the next match they lost match against Lahore team by 1 wicket & match was tense. When the tournament shift Back to Dubai United get a wonderful win against Quetta team  after this team was qualified for play-offs. Karachi Kings play against eliminator round against Islamabad & Islamabad team give the target to Karachi team of 126 runs. But they lost the game & finishes the tournament with lowest position in the points table.

2018 Year

The team of Islamabad start the tournament against Peshawar & lost the first match. In the next game they faced Multan Sultan team where they defeat them by 5 wickets. After shifting the match to Sharjah they play match against Quetta but failed to win the match & lost it by 7 wickets. However in the next thrashed match against Lahore Qalandar they win the match & back to the form. The team ended the next match against Karachi with tough target & make 154 runs. After win this match they qualified for the final match. The final match play between United & Zalmi’s. Peshawar Zalmi team won the toss and decide to play the first. Shadab khan took three wicket of Peshawar team. But suddenly United lost the 20 runs & leave at 116.

2019 Year

In the opening match of tournament Islamabad team defeat the Lahore Qalandar by making the 171 score. Next two games against Multan Sultan & Quetta Gladiators were lost by Islamabad team. In next match the hopes of Peshawar Zalmi team to win’s the game trashed when Pollard & Darren Sammy make the partnership of 55. The Islamabad team win the match by 12 runs. They didn’t stopped to make the record of winning & get win against Karachi Kings. In this match Asif Ali hits the ball all side of ground and make 70 score on 38 balls.

2020 Year

In this tournament the Islamabad team start well but could not qualify for the final. Shadab Khan win the award of ” Man of the Match”. He is youngest captain of the Pakistan Super League. Misbah Ul Haq is the head coach of the United team.

Categories PSL

Leave a Comment