BPL Minister Dhaka Team Schedule, Fixture & History

Bangladesh Super League is a T20 league direct by BCB. The craze for the T20 format increases day by day among the people. Minister Dhaka team is one of the best teams in the Bangladesh league. The home ground of the team is Sher-e Bangla Mirpur. Dhaka team won the three-time BPL trophy in the 2012,2013 & 2016 editions. Nasir Hossain is the icon player of the Dhaka Team. Dhaka team faces the change in name 4 times due to owner changing.


Minister Dhaka Team


Minister Dhaka Team Franchise Overview

Minister Dhaka team is a franchise team in BPL based on the Dhaka division. In 2012 Bangladesh Cricket Board launch its league with the name BPL. They select 6 teams from different divisions of Bangladesh. In the 1st edition, the Dhaka team introduce as a franchise team with the Dhaka Gladiators name.

Later in the 2013 season, BEXIMCO Group bought the franchise and rebranded the team as the new name Dhaka Dynamites. The team was awarded from Europa Group under the name of  Dhaka Gladiators for 5.05US$.

The reason for the owner’s change was the case of corruption of the previous owner. Therefore Beximco company gets the ownership. In the season 2019 Jamuna Bank acquired the Dhaka team. You can get the all matches timing of the Dhaka team from the Official Schedule of BPL announced by BCB recently.

Minister Dhaka Team Identity

Name Logo, Team Kit

Dhaka is the famous division of Bangladesh country and the team name acquired from the division. The team changes its name four-time like Dhaka Gladiators, Dhaka Dynamite, Dhaka Platoon & Minister Dhaka. in the logo of Dhaka, the team man wears a helmet and holds the bat to show the craze for cricket. The bottom ball with the crown shows the empire of the cricket world. The logo design is in white, gold & Black color.

In the logo world ” Minister” show the king of the empire and Dhaka represents the division of Bangladesh. The team kit is designed in three colors green. yellow & black. On the left side of the jersey, is the official logo design and on the right side food, the panda logo represents their sponsor. The ARNOB fashion house manufactures the Minister Dhaka team kit.

Team Anthem Song

The theme song for the Dhaka team predicts by the Cirkut team. The anthem song lyrics are in the Bangladesh language so only Bangladeshi fans can understand the song. The song is not provided in the other language.

Team Sponsor

There are many sponsors for the team kit. Different brands sponsor the kit with different parts. Front side sponsors are National Bank Limited, Beximco, Jamuna Bank & Minister. These sponsors change at different times during the season. The companies who are sponsoring the jersey chest side are Confidence Group, Lifebuoy, Jamuna Bank & Food Panda.

 Minister Dhaka Team Performance History

Minister Dhaka is the only team that succeeds to get a 3-time championship in BPL. In the season 2017 and 2019 team ends the season as the Runner-up. Dhaka team is the most successful team in the Bangladesh Premier League. Here we provide team performance for the season.

2011 t0 2012 Year

Dhaka team start the tournament with a bad performance. In the first match, they lost the match against the Khulna Royals team. After this match, they get three consecutive successes in the match. Shahid Afridi & Saeed Ajmal play an important role in the wins. In the third victory, they win the match against Barisal Burners.

The team made the highest score of the tournament 208 runs on a five-wicket loss. After these matches, they did not get success due to batting collapse. In the final Minister Dhaka team beat the Barisal Burners and get their first Championship in Bangladesh Super League.

2012 to the 2013 Year

In the 2nd season, they bought Shakib- Al- Hassan player who was the most expensive in the tournament. They bought a new player for their team. With the combination of new players, the team is successfully building the best squad. They won 11 matches out of 14 and get the 1st position in the points table. The team plays the play-off stage & final. In the final match, they defeat Sylhet Royals and again won the title of Championship in 2013.

2015 to the 2016 Year

After the 2013 season Dhaka team come into a new look. It was due to the corruption case of the previous owner of the team. Beximco change the name of the team & retained a few players from the team. They pick Nasir Hossain as captain, Kumar Sangakkara, Yasir Shah, Muhammad Hafeez & many other new players for the squad.

The team starts the tournament with two consecutive wins against Comilla and Chattogram teams. After these matches, they lost two matches against Rangpur Riders & Barisal team. But they finish the tournament in the 4th position in the points table.

2016 to the 2017 Year

After the 3rd season with an average performance, they start the tournament with a strong start. They pick two new foreign players. The team gets 1st win against Barisal Bulls. Later they get two more successes. They get the chance to qualify in the final where they defeat the Khulna Titans team and get the 3rd time championship. Dwayne Bravo gets the award of ” Man of the Match” & Kumar Sangakkara gets an award for most runs.

2017 to the 2018 Year

In this season team pick 4 foreign players who keep their worth. Shakib- Al-Hassan signed as their icon player of the team. They take a surprise start by defeating the Sylhet Sixers. They win most matches of the tournament and get the 2nd position in the tournament. In the final, they didn’t manage the win and lost the match against Rangpur Riders.

2018 to the 2019 Year

Dhaka team retained many players & pick some new players for the squad. they take a good start and get 5 consecutive wins in the group stage. Later the wins they could not manage the momentum and lost 5 matches one by one.

But they succeed to get the position in the eliminator where they defeat the Chattogram team. In the 2nd eliminator match, they play against Rangpur Riders and make the position for the final match.  Comilla team set a target of 200 runs for the Minister Dhaka team. But they lost the match by 17 runs from Comilla Victorians.

2019 to the 2020 Year

In this season due to some issues between all franchises & BCB, all team changes their owner. Dhaka team bought by Jamuna Bank. They retained many players from the team. Dhaka team pick foreign players Shahid Afridi and Thisara Parara. They start the 7th season with high potential and win most of the matches. But they could not succeed to make the position in the final.

Leave a Comment