Perth Scorchers Team History, Venue & Squad

Perth Scorchers is the most successful team in Big Bash League. It represents Perth city of Western Australia as a T20 franchise team in BBL. They are the current Champion of the previous tournament of the league. It is the only team in BBL who won two consecutive wins for the trophy. Adam Voges is the coach of the team. Here we are going to share the Perth team, history performance, schedule matches, fixtures, and venue. All fans who are lovers of the Perth Scorchers team and want to know more about it must read the article till the end.


Perth Scorchers

Perth Scorchers Franchise

Australia Cricket launch the BBL in 2011 and pick eight teams from 6 states of the country. Perth Scorchers is a T20 franchise team in BBL and based in Perth city. In the first tournament, Micky Arthur was the first coach of the team but later they were appointed Australia International cricket team coach. Australia Cricket Board is the owner of all franchised teams and all teams play under the board. Here is no separate owner for franchise teams.

The inventor of the T20 format is England and the 1st T20 match was the play between Australia and England teams. Later when the format become popular among the fans every country made its league. Foreign and local players from every country play for different franchises and teams. If you want to know about the Match Schedule of the Perth Scorchers team you can get details from the BBL Schedule for the 2023 tournament.

Perth Scorchers Team Performance History

Perth is a very strong and successive team of the league and they won 4 times championships of the league. Here we are going to share all season performance of the team. In which season do they then get a league trophy and in which season do they become runner-up?

Season 1 of Perth Scorchers

Scorchers start their first season of the league with bad performance. They lost their first match against Hobart Hurricanes by 13 runs. Later Perth team win 5 consecutive matches and qualify for the semi-final.

They finish the group stage in the top position. In the semi-final match, they get a win against Melbourne Stars and qualify for the 1st eliminator match. But in the 2nd match, they lost the match against Sydney Sixer by 7 wickets. They could not qualify for the final match but finished the tournament with 2nd position.

Season 2 Perth Scorchers team

Collingwood leaves the team in the 2nd season of BBL. They want to pick Albie Morkel as the new coach but he was unavailable. At last Perth, the team picked South African Alfonso Thomas as their team coach. To make their squad strong they pick some new players Tom Triffitt as wicket-keeper, Adam Voges, Luke Ronchi, and Nathan Rimmington.

The Peth team start 2nd season again with poor performance. They lost the match against Melbourne Start and make the lowest score in the tournament. Like the previous season, they play all matches after losing the match and recover their position by winning 5 matches continually. They become top with 2nd position in the points table.

They secure their position to play the final match. Scorchers qualify for the semi-final and play against Melbourne stars. Due to rain, the match was affected but they won the match with 8 wickets. In the final match, they play against Brisbane Heat and play well but at last, they can not stable their momentum and lost the match by 34 runs.

Season 3

In the 3rd edition of the Big Bash League franchise team retained some players and pick new players for the team squad.  Scorchers pick Yasir Arafat Pakistani player in the place of Dwayne Smith. The start of the tournament was not so well. Perth Scorchers team win only three matches out of eight. But they made their position secure for the semi-final.

They qualify for the semi-final match and play against Sydney Sixers on their home ground. Where they defeat the Sydney team by 5 wickets. They were eligible to play the final match. They play their final match against Hobart Hurricanes and set the target of 191 for the opponent team. Hobart team all played out on 152 runs and Scorchers team won their first title of Champion in Big Bash League.

Season 4

After winning the 1st trophy they become more energetic to win the next BBL title. They start the league tournament with good performance and won 6 matches out of eight. They qualify for the semi-final and play against the Melbourne Stars in the semi-final 3rd time. The Scorchers team defeat the Melbourne Stars team and get a position to play the final match.

Perth team play the final in their home ground match against Sydney Sixers. Sydney team set the target of 147 runs for the Scorchers team. The Scorchers team easily chases the target they need only one run in the end to win the match. They get their last run and once again win the 2nd time league trophy.

Season 5

In the 5th edition, they start their season tournament with better performance and are excited to win the third time title of ” Champion”.  On 30 December they make a record for the BBL history. They complete their match against Melbourne Renegades without losing any wickets. They got the heavy win against Melbourne Renegades and qualify for the semi-final match. The Scorchers team face Melbourne Stars in the semi-final match but lost the match against the Sydney team. They lost all hopes to win their third title of BBPL champion.

Season 6

Scorchers team starts the season well and gets the top position in the group stage. They play in the semi-final against player Johnson took 3 wickets in his 4 overs. In the final match, they faced again Sydney Sixers’ team where they defeat them by 9 wickets. They get a trophy a third time.

Season 7

Perth finished at top of the table with 8 winning games n the group stage. They faced Hobart Hurricanes in the semi-final match where they lost the match and made 139 runs only. They can not maintain their position in the tournament and can not get a place to play final.

Season 8

Scorchers team retained many players from the squad and start the tournament with 1st win. Later they can not maintain their position and won only 4 games out of 14 in the tournament. They ended the tournament in the bottom position in the points table. It was the first time the Perth Scorchers team can not qualify for the final. It was a very disappointing tournament for the team in Big Bash League history.

Season 9 and 10

They include fast bowlers in their squad and pick some other new players. Despite of best players, they could not perform well. Once again they finished the tournament in 6th position. They were close to a better position but defeated against Sydney Thunders and Hobart’s team lost their hopes to qualify for the semi-final.

In the 10-season, the Perth team start the season with three defeats but later they recovered their position. The finished group stage with 2nd position. In the Semi-final match, the Perth team faces Brisbane Heat and gets wins by 49 runs. In the final match, Perth Scorchers play against Sydney Sixers. Sydney’s team give them the target of 188 runs but all players were out on 161 runs. The team won the final by 27 runs and the Perth team become runner-up.

Sydney Scorchers Team Squad

  • Ashton Turner
  •  Ashton Agar
  •  Cameron Bancroft
  •  Jason Behrendorff
  • Laurie Evans
  •  Aaron Hardie
  •  Peter Hatzoglou
  •  Tymal Mills
  • David Moody
  •  Lance Morris
  •  Colin Munro
  •  Kurtis Patterson
  •  Andrew Tye

Sydney Scorcher Team Home Ground

WACA is the Perth scorchers team’s home ground. It is located in Perth city of Australia and directs by the Westerns Australia Cricket Association. It was attended 1st test match of Australia and England on 16 December 1970. WACA ground has a capacity of 20, thousand seats for the people.

Leave a Comment