PSL History- Pakistan Super League

Pakistan Super League is a T20 Domestic League played in Pakistan. PCB wants to introduce a new cricket format to bring young talent to Pakistan cricket. Here we are going to share the PSL history. The history of the winner’s team, purpose & everything about PSL. This league takes place every year in February & March. PSL is the 2nd most popular league due to its short format. The hits & boundaries of foreign players in this league attract fans to the stadiums. In the history of PSL book, Pakistan has the best batsmen & outstanding bowling lineup. At the beginning of the PSL tournament, it was playing in UAE. If you are a big fan of the Pakistan Super League & know all about its history then connect with us till the end.


PSL History


PSL History

Pakistan Cricket Board owned the PSL in 2015. Its first season started in 2016 & Islamabad United Team become the 1st champion of the inaugural season. PCB introduces 5 franchise teams at the beginning of the tournament.

PCB decides in 2013 to launch PSL but later it was postponed in 2014 due to some logical issue. In 2015 Sponsors & Investors was agree for launching the new cricket league. The aim of the Pakistan Cricket Board behind introducing the new cricket format was to bring new talent to came in front. Najam Shetty the chairman of PSL do highly effort to build the Pakistan Super League.

Many foreign players get fame through this league & make a separate place in the world of Cricket. In the 2016 season, Islamabad United wins the 1st title of the championship. Islamabad is the only team who get the PSL trophy two times. PSL per year cost of Sponsorship is US$14.3 million.

The players who make the most runs get the award of Hanif Muhammad Trophy & Green Cap. The bowlers with the most wickets get the Fazal Mahmood award

PSL History Winners Teams

In PSL history all teams do well to win the tournament. At the beginning of the league, 5 teams play against each other. Later PCB decides to add a new team to this league. Multan Sultan was introduced as a new team. All 6 franchise teams represent six different cities. Here we list all the PSL Winners according to the season.

  • Islamabad United team become 1st winner in 2016 season & Quetta Gladiators was the runner-up.
  • In the 2nd season Peshawar Zalmi team gets the PSL trophy and again Quetta team becomes runner-up.
  • Islamabad United team defeats the Previous champion Peshawar Zalmi in 2018 and gets the winner title the second time.
  • In the season 2019 Quetta team played against Peshawar Zalmi in the final and success to get a trophy 1st time.
  • Karachi Kings become the winner in 2020 by defeating the Lahore Qalandar team in the 2020 PSL season.
  • In the 2021 season, the Multan Sultan team played against Peshawar Zalmi and became the season’s winner.
  • Lahore Qalandar team become the champion in 2022 season by defeating the previous champion Multan Sultan.

PSL History Runner-Up

  •  Quetta Gladiators- 2016
  • Quetta Gladiators-2017
  • Peshawar Zalmi-2018
  • Peshawar Zalmi-2019
  • Lahore Qalandar-2020
  • Peshawar Zalmi-2021
  • Multan Sultan-2022

Who Hit the Fastest Century in PSL History?

Rilee Rossouw who is playing for the Multan sultan team made the record for hitting the fastest century. He is one of the outstanding batsmen of the Multan franchise team. He play an important role in the 2020 season to get the Multan team’s top position in the points table.

The left-handed batsmen hit the fastest century in PSL history & make the ton in just 43 balls. He hits 10 fours and six centuries. He is just one in the 2020 PSL tournament who hit the century like a monstrous hit.

Fastest Ball in PSL History

In Pakistan Super League many bowlers make the record with their bowling feat. Many bowlers emerged their bowline line in PSL and make the standard of their bowling style. Harris Rauf the outstanding bowler of the Lahore Qalandar team makes a wonderful record with his bowling style. Harris rules in the hearts of fans with the fiery pace of his bowling.

He is a right-arm fiery pacer. He bowled at the speed of 152.5km/h against the Peshawar Zalmi team. Harris Rauf also bowled his 2nd fasted delivery at the speed of 149.4 km/h. Rauf helped his team to dismiss the dangerous batsman Paul Stirling. In the edition of 2022, Rauf made a wonderful record at the bowling line.

5 Most Expensive Players of PSL History

Many players bought in a heavy amount for the franchise team. All team tries to get a better player for their team therefore they spend a heavy amount on the players. Here we list some players who are the most expensive player in the Pakistan Super League history.

Babar Azam

Babar Azam is a great player who made the most runs in PSL. First, he play for the Islamabad team, and later Karachi Kings bought him. He is the most expensive player in PSL. He bought in 1.09 crore. Babar made 1774 runs with an average of 41. 25.

Muhammad Hafeez

Mohammad Hafeez is playing for the Lahore Qalandar. Lahore Qalandar franchise bought him in 23044000 which is around 1.09 crore. Muhammad Hafeez led the Lahore Qalandar as a captain in season 5. But in his captaincy team could not play well.

Shahid Afridi

Shahid Afridi is outstanding player of Pakistan International team. In PSL he play in the Multan sultan team. Due to his well batting fans give him the title of ” Boom Boom  Afridi“. Multan Sultan bought him 130000$. He is one of the most expensive player of Pakistan Super League.

David Miller

David Miller is the South African player play in PSL. He plays for the Peshawar Zalmi team & Peshawar team bought him US$130000. David Miller play for the Zalmi in 6th season of Pakistan Super League. But later he leave the PSL due to contract with Bangladesh Premier League.

Hassan Ali

He is fast medium bowler play for the Islamabad United team. In 2016 he join the Peshawar Zalmi team but later Islamabad bought him in US$170000.  In 2017 he was retained from the Peshawar team and ended the season by taking 12 wickets which is the highest number of wickets by a player. He is one of the most leading wicket taker of PSL & get the 81 wickets in 63 innings.

Leave a Comment