Rajasthan Royal Team Identity & Team Performance

Rajasthan Royals team is the team that won the 1st season Indian Premier League in 2008. If someone asks you, who is the 1st winner of the Indian Premier League, your answer should have to be, Rajasthan Royal team was the 1st winner of IPL. The team is based in Jaipur, Rajasthan. Rajasthan Royals represents a whole State. The brand value of Rajasthan Royals is 249 crore. The team record run-scorer is Ajinkya Rahane with 3098 runs and the highest wicket-taker is Shane Watson, with 67 wickets.


Rajasthan Royal Team

Franchise History of Rajasthan Royal Team

Rajasthan Royal is a franchise cricket team owned by Manoj Badale (Led Emerging Media IPL Ltd) which holds 65% shares. Key minority shareholders include Lachlan Mordoch and RedBird Capital partner.  Emerging media bought the Rajasthan Royal franchise for $67 million , which makes it the least expensive team of IPL. In 2009 franchise make a pre-tax profit of $ 7.5 million. In IPL history many teams terminate due to many issues but Deccan Chargers team terminate for the financial issue and they didn’t play again in IPL. All history details are provided in the article IPL team Deccan Chargers History. You can get the reason of its termination from this article.

Rajasthan Royal team Termination

In 2015 the team was terminated by BCCI for two years. Ranjit Bharthakur and Fraser Castellino were the only two stakeholders of the team, which was fully unknown to the BCCI at the time. An out-of-court deal between the two results. Rajasthan Royals became the source of gossip when unprofessional and false bids were made, violating BCCI norms.

Suspension from IPL

In 2010, BCCI decide to suspend the Rajasthan Royal from Indian Premier League. The suspension confused captain Shan Warne who said that he suspected that there might be some wrong play and the BCCI might possess some personal reasons. The Rajasthan Royal submits an appeal against the BCCI decision and went to Mumbai High court for decision. The Mumbai High courts dismiss the case until 29 October 2010.

It was revised on 15 November due to the Diwali celebrations. After this Bombay High court rejected the appeals of BCCI against keeping the Rajasthan in the IPL for six weeks while the case was sorted out. During the bad reputation in a court case, BCCI decided not to take further action against Rajasthan Royals, the team was allowed to remain in the Indian Premier League.

Rajasthan Royal Team Identity

Team Logo and Jersey

In the old logo of Rajasthan Royals, two lions stand with buglers. The old logo colors are blue and gold. RR changed its logo, new logo colors are pink and white due to its pink city Jaipur. Rajasthan represents Raja as king and Sthan as state, the full meaning is the State of Kings. It was the state of Kings that’s why a crown shows on the top of double R.

In 2008 jersey color was blue with yellow strips and in 2020 jersey color became blue and pink.

Jersey Sponsors

Alcis, Lakshmi Cement, JIO, Astral Pipes and food chain Chawla, INOX and Alcis sports chose, KEI wires and cables, JK sixer Cement and Nerolac Paints are the sponsors of Rajasthan Royals jersey.

Theme Song

Rajasthan Royals theme song is ‘Halla Bol’ in 2008. Sung by Rajasthan folk singer Lla Arun. This theme song changed to “Phir Halla Bol” in 2018 and sung by Sunidhi Chauhan.


The team mascot is a lion named Moochu Singh.

Home Ground of Rajasthan Royal Team

Sawai Mansingh Stadium is the home ground of Rajasthan Royals in Jaipur. The stadium was built during the Maharaja Sawai Mansingh 2. The stadium seats are 30,000 and one of the best stadiums in India. The Sawagi Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur is set to host the Rajasthan Royals home matches in 2018.

Most Expensive Player Of Rajasthan Royal Team

South African all-rounder Chris Morris has become the most expensive player of Rajasthan Royals in IPL history breaking the bank to acquire his services for INR 16.25 crore.

 Rajasthan Royal Team Performance History 2008 – 2009

With the start of IPL, everyone thought that Rajasthan Royal is a weekly team. They play 1st match in their home ground SMS in Jaipur. They played against Punjab Kings and wins the match by 6 wickets. Shane Watson declare as Man of the Match.

The Royals won the final in 2008. Shane Watson won the man of the tournament award for scoring 472 runs. Shane Warner was the captain and coach of the Royals. The team was presented with the DLF, IPL trophy along with a cheque of US$1.2 million. Yusuf Pathan awarded man of the match, Sohail Tanveer awarded a purple cap and Shane Watson declare Man of the series.

In 2009 they start by losing their opening match by running 75 to RCB. Rajasthan Royals record was to make the lowest total in IPL history. They remain defeated by MI, DD, CSK, DC, Kings 11 Punjab, and KKR. The Royals were at the end of the table. RR failed to qualify in the semi-final by losing the last two matches against DD and KKR.

Team Performance History 2010 and 2013

Rajasthan Royals ended the tournament badly with losses to Mumbai Indians and RCB at home and KKR in the last round-robin match in Kolkata. Sequentially, they failed to make it to the playoffs for the 2nd consecutive season as they finished 7th out of 8th teams in the competition.

The Rajasthan Royals were temporarily out of the league due to an issue with their unreported ownership changes. The team was reinstated with involvement from the High Court. But this time they ended their Round-robin matches well with a win against Mumbai Indians. Rajasthan dismiss from the competition since they end at the six positions out of the ten-team in the tournament.

Rajasthan Royals finished in 7th place among the points table, winning only 7 matches out of 16 in 2012. In 2013 Rajasthan Royals qualified for the play-offs stage. They won against Sunriser Hyderabad but lost to MI in 2nd qualifier. Shane Watson declare as Man of the match.

Team Performance History 2014 and 2021

Rajasthan Royals retained 5 players for the 7thseason IPL. James Faulkner scored 65 runs off the last 17 balls. Shane Watson led the side and Rahul Dravid played the role of mentor. In 2015 Royals qualified for the playoffs by finishing the fourth stage in the league, but lost to RCB in the eliminator.

In 2018 Rajasthan Royals made a comeback to the IPL after two years of suspensions. On 2 May in the match against Delhi Daredevils, Jos Buttler scored the fastest ever 50 for Royals. However, the Royals lost the match by 4 runs. Buttler also equals Virender Sehwag’s record, with 5 consecutive fifties. The Royals managed to secure fourth place in the regular season with 14 points.

Paddy Upton select the Royal coach for the 2019 IPL. Ajinkya Rahane retained his captaincy at the start of the season, Steve Smith replaced Ajinkya Rahane as captain of RR after strong results.

The team started well in the season by winning two matches but they could not keep balance and faced 4 consecutive losses after it and end the season with bottom points. Jofra Archer was the most value able player of the season. On 20 January 2021, they released 8 players during the auction, including their captain Steve Smith and they also announced that Sanju Samson would be their captain in 2021.

British Asian Cup

On 19 May 2009, it was announced the Royals would meet Middlesex Crusaders for a one-off T20 for the British Asian Cup. The match took place on 6 July 2009. 1st time the annual charity series play between T20 champions of two countries. The match win by Rajasthan Royals by 46 runs.

Categories IPL

Leave a Comment