Sydney Sixers Team BBL, History, Squad, & Venue

Sydney Sixers Team is a franchise team in Big Bash League. BBL is the T20 domestic league of Australia. Sydney Sixers team home ground is Sydney Cricket Ground. The team Sydney Sixers is the champion of the first season of the Big Bash League. In the 2019-20 season of BBL, they become the champion 2nd time. In the first edition of BBL, wicket-keeper Brad Haddin led the team as their team coach. We try our best to bring all information about BBL and its teams. If you are a lover of the BBL Sydney Sixers team and want to know all about them so, read the article thoroughly.


Sydney Sixers Team


Sydney Sixers Team Franchise

Australia Cricket is the owner of the Sydney Sixer team. It is not like other leagues like IPL, BPL, and PSL where every franchise team has a different owner. In 2011 Australia Cricket decide to make a T20 league and made 8 team franchises based on 8 different states. The team Sydney Sixers team made when Australia Cricket decide to move away from the state-based team.

But later they decide to take two teams from Sydney because if they collect teams from cities this move was to align its structure. Australia Cricket announced the Schedule of the upcoming BBL if you want to get details about reading my previous BBL 2023 Schedule.

Have a look at: Melbourne Renegades Team

Sydney Sixers Team Performance History

2011 to 2012 BBL

Sydney Sixers team play the first match in their home ground where they face Brisbane Heat team. Sixer lost the chance to batting first and Brisbane Heat set the target of 139/8 in 20 hours. Team Sixer easily chases the target of 139 runs. In this match, Brad Haddin win the award of “Man of the match“. In the next game, the Sixers try their best but they lost the match against the Hobart Hurricanes team by 42 runs.

Phil Jaques and Travis Birt had an amazing partnership on 107 and get an award of ” Player of the Match“. After returning to the home ground they play their next match against the Melbourne Stars team. Dwayne Bravo make 51 runs for the Sixers and Melbourne Stars lost the match by 2 runs. After losing the game against Melbourne Renegades Sydney Sixers win two consecutive matches against Sydney Thunder and Adelaide Strikers.

Sixers team successfully qualified for the Semifinal. They play the Semi-final match against Perth Scorchers at home ground and they set a target of 176 runs. Scorchers lost the match by 1 run. With 3 consecutive wins, they were close to winning. They defeat the Hurricanes on their home ground the good effort of Brett Lee and Ian Moran bowling line Sixers team successful to go in the final. In the final match, Sydney Sixer defeats the Perth Scorchers team by 7 runs.

2012-2012 BBL

At the beginning of the season, the Sixer team was drawn into group B. But they complete the group stage by facing many difficulties. They ended the season in the last position in the points table. Sydney Sixer’s team wins only two games and did not qualify for the final. It was a very disappointing season for the Sixer team.

2013-2014 BBL

The sixer team starts the season by winning the match. They win 7 matches and only lost one out of 8. Sydney Sixer team qualifies for the semi-final match and plays against Perth Scorchers. They lost the match against the Perth team. Due to rain, the score of the Sixers fell short against the Perth team. They made 54 runs in 5 over but lost the match 48/6 according to the rule during the rain.

2014-2015 BBL

Sydney Sixers team gets 5 consecutive wins at the beginning of the season. They lost two games against Perth and Adelaide teams. The next game was equal by the runs and lost the game during the super over against Melbourne Star. In the next game against the Strikers, they get success to chase the target and win the game. They set a target of 181/4  for Strikers but they were all out on just 94 runs. Against the Perth Scorchers team, they face a very bad defeat. They qualify for the final against the Perth team where they become the runner-up of the season.

2016-2017 BBL

The Sixers team starts the season with the most winnings. They qualify for the semi-final by defeating the Perth Scorchers and defeating the Melbourne team in the semi-final. In the final game, they face the Perth team and try their best to win the season but could not succeed. They lost the final match by 9 wickets.

2019-2020 BBL

This season Sixers team plays a match with full energy. They won all matches in the group stage and semi-final. In the final, they face Melbourne Star where they won the title of BBL Champion by 19 runs.

2020-2021 BBL

Once again Sydney Sixers get the fourth title of the Champion. They play the final match against Perth Scorchers. Sixers get the most wins in the Big Bash League and successful teams in the league.

Sydney Sixers Team Squad

  • Steve O’Keefe
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Ben Manenti
  • Lloyd Pop
  • Chris Jorden
  • Mickey Edwards
  • Tom Curran
  • Jackson Bird
  •  Ben Dwarshuis
  • Jay Lenton
  • Josh Philippe
  • Sean Abbott
  • Dan Christian
  • Hayden Kerr
  • Moises Henriques
  • Jack Edward
  • Daniel Hughes
  • Jorden Silk
  • James Vince

Sydney Sixer Team Kit

Sixers team kit is manufactured in Pink color. The pink color describes the Pink Dollar and its deep connection with Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras. On the left side of the kit jersey, the official logo of the team is designed. KooGa manufactured the kit from the 2011 season to the 2014-15 season. Later Majestic Athletic made the kits for the team and in the 2021-2022 season, Nike manufactured the team kit. Sony and iinet company are the front and back sponsors for the kit.

Sydney Sixer Team Home Ground

Sixers team home ground is Sydney Cricket Ground. The owner of the ground is the Government of New South  Wales and it has a capacity of 48,000 seats. Sydney Sixer team plays most of the matches against the team of Big Bash League. The sixers team makes a new record for the domestic league crowd. A total of 39,756 people attended the Sydney Smash in 2017 on 14 January.

Leave a Comment